Remembering Rik Mayall

I was saddened to learn overnight that British comedian Rik Mayall had died at age 56. My parents were fans of The Young Ones and Blackadder, but me, as a child of the 90s will always have the fondest memories of him from Drop Dead Fred. Every trip to the video store resulted in me renting that movie, my obsession with it  rivaled only by Grease. So when I read on twitter at 1:30am that he had passed away suddenly, it felt like a little piece of my childhood had gone too.

If you’ve never seen Drop Dead Fred, its fantastically hilarious 90s movie with all the gross-out humour and gags you could possibly want. I for one will be getting out my copy and giving it another rewatch.

RIP Rik.

Leave a Reply

