Product Review: Doctor Who Exploding TARDIS jigsaw puzzle

doctor_who_exploding_tardis

Doctor Who Exploding TARDIS.
1000 Pieces.
Measures: 20 x 27 inches when complete.
Published and Distributed by: Culturenik

While it may be unusual to write a product review for a jigsaw puzzle, for addicts like myself, it can be good to know what you’re getting before you buy it.

First of all, I didnt even know they made Doctor Who jigsaw puzzles, so imagine my delight when I found one from a vendor at a convention!

The Exploding TARDIS was HARD. I didnt expect it to be a walk in the park, but after completing my last 1000 piece puzzle in about 8 hours, I guess I had high expectations for myself.

This one took me roughly 20 days, working nearly every day for a couple of hours. Sometimes I would just end up staring at it forever and only end up with a few pieces added, it was frustrating, but I really enjoyed the challenge.

After I spent way too long putting together the border, I started with the centre explosion piece. Though it did take a fairly long time, it was the easiest part, along with the TARDIS shapes. For me, the most difficult parts were the yellow swirls and the dark patches. Everything there was pretty much the same colour so it was a lot of trial and error figuring out where each piece went.

Let me say this, the picture on the box? Utterly useless as a guide.

For the technical bits, the puzzle is really good quality. It is made from a nice thick, solid cardboard which didnt bend – except for the one piece that came out of the box that way. The pieces are a variety of non-standard shapes that fit together well. Though I found that sections didnt always stay together when moving them around. Best to have a big space set aside for this one so you dont have to move it around.

It looks really great finished, the picture is high quality so you could frame it if you really didnt want to go through the process of doing it again. I personally, am a sucker for punishment and have already demolished mine and will work on it again one day.

doctor_who_jigsaw

My actual puzzle finished. No apparently I can’t take a straight picture.

Overall, if you like a challenging jigsaw puzzle and are a fan of Doctor Who, this is perfect.

The Exploding TARDIS jigsaw may be a little hard to find in stores, but you should still be able to get it from good Doctor Who retailers in Australia. It will probably set you back approximately $35 (AUD).

Leave a Reply

